prixmium: (Default)


I haven't seen any of the YuGiOh spin-offs but this is the sole thing I have ever seen that kind of makes me want to invest the time into it someday.

Other YuGiOh thoughts before I pass out:

It used to bother me so much that everyone in the YuGiOh universe takes this card game so seriously that they build technology and have law concerning it and all kinds of just bizarre stuff that doesn't happen about card games in our universe. I could live with it - suspension of disbelief - but it would always come back to haunt me. Then someone on the YuGiOh discord server I'm in helped me so much when they suggested that it was basically like Duel Monsters was the equivalent of American football in this universe but more internationally prevalent. It was like a great fog cleared, and it all made sense! How many tv shows and movies and political things do you know that have come about as a result of American football? The answer is a lot.

Still, though, I do find it weird how it seems like absolutely everything in YuGiOh seems to come back to this singular game and mythology. It makes me feel better, therefore, if I imagine that YuGiOh takes place in even a passive crossover with some of my other fandoms. I am working on this thing that I will make a post explaining before sharing, but it has to do with my talking about my daydreaming universes and how a huge part of one of those inner worlds was damaged by real life issues with a friend I shared it with. The long story short, however, is that I imagine that YuGiOh takes place in the same universe as several other (mostly anime) fandoms including, among others, Steins;Gate, which is what this video reminds me of and makes me really want to play with such themes in YuGiOh fic and stuff someday...

Date: 2019-01-02 03:54 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] toxictsukino
toxictsukino: (Default)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ8reVVda9w a video you might find entertaining regarding the card game.

Date: 2019-01-03 03:50 am (UTC)From: [personal profile] ex_killdoll814
hey!! if you're looking to get into the spinoffs, may i recommend zexal? it's my favorite, and although i understand that's a very personal thing, i do genuinely believe that it has some of the best writing of any of the spinoffs, and it stands so well on its own as an anime that i've used it to get people who swore up and down they'd never care about yugioh into yugioh. as a bonus, there are several very interesting adult characters who get generous amounts of plot focus and screentime, and i know that although it's not like i can't relate to kids, as i get older, it's fun to see adults represented in the media i enjoy. i'd recommend watching the sub, not the dub, if you have the option, though, as the dub completely rewrote and removed the canon LGBT+ rep that the original japanese version had, and to this day i'm still salty about it. (it was 2012 for fuck's sake!)

Date: 2019-01-09 05:11 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] ex_killdoll814
so there's a recurring side character later on in zexal who, in true yugioh fashion, is both a millennia-old alien/spirit being and an approximately 14-year-old human boy. while a 14-year-old boy, he develops a crush on and eventually falls in love with first a female character, then a male character, and it's handled in a really respectful way. i'm personally kind of awed by the show's depiction of a young bi kid's love as so natural and normal, and how it's broken down so that younger kids will understand.

in the dub, all the references to his crush on the male character were written out, but all the references to his crush on the female character were left in. :| people were PISSED. OFF. myself included. it was awful.

the character is named alit (alito in the dub for some reason?) and he's a really heartfelt character. i was really sad about what happened.

on a less clear-cut note, the main character and his spirit partner, who is technically genderless but sort of male leaning, are kind of implied to have a thing at times, and they do exchange "i love you"s? that might just be my shipping goggles again, though, haha.

Date: 2019-01-08 06:26 am (UTC)From: [personal profile] kari_izumi
kari_izumi: (Default)
I've legit tried getting into GX for the sole sake of understanding Kaibaman, but I get bored of the show before I even get to that point.

But yes to the rest of it! ❤️❤️❤️

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 02:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios