prixmium: (low res cat - fuck)
I have been very lazy about posting here and regretful about it. I have been posting a little more often on tumblr, because the UI has been good to upload pictures of various things I did in the real world. I plan to eventually cross-post here, but it will take me a little time.

With tumblr's recent tomfoolery last week, it makes me aware that I do really want to be more active on this site and maybe to dust off trying to use pillowfort at least as a backup. I also am enchanted by the idea of having my own little webpage that is a bit more than my carrd, but I am not sure which platform I want to use. I did have a neocities account, but I feel like it's a little above my ability to envision what I want. I do know very basic stuff about HTML and CSS such that I can at least search my way through W3 School or whatever and figure out how to edit stuff, but I am not a designer without a base underneath. I have a carrd premium account because it's so cheap, but I'm not sure if it's too limited.

Thursday was the Closing Ceremony for my first full school year at the school where I currently teach. I'm proud of myself and my kids, and it's a bit bittersweet. Of course, it is a bit strange given that I will see a lot of them again in about three weeks. I have most days off between now and April 1, but I do have training on Tuesday and Wednesday of next week.

I've been mostly lying in bed too much today and eating, but I have spent a few little bursts of 15-20 minutes tidying things yesterday and today, so that has been good. I have an appointment to go get my hair worked on tomorrow, but I'm still a little nervous and less sure of what I want than some previous efforts.

Last year, after my participation in Dragon Age Big Bang, I kind of stopped writing much for a long time. I spent so much time trying to get it to work and be solid, despite stress and life transitions, and then it never really got any readership except for my challenge assigned beta and artist, and it was a real kick to morale. I knew it was a rare pair, so I didn't need a lot of interaction, but it just felt like it wasn't actually for anyone, such that I kind of stopped thinking about it at all afterward and got a sort of sour taste in my mouth.

I'm participating in DABB again, but I am doing something much more safe and less ambitious, and I'd be lying if I said it wasn't largely because I've remained in the community for this whole time, and they're a good group of people to hang around.

I am working on my Death Note fic, but I slowed down for about a week and a half due to end of term documentation pressures, headaches, and general malaise, but any mental malaise was mostly secondary, temporary, hormonal.

I played the recent limited event on Genshin Impact that had a lot of Mondstadt early content nostalgia, plus some character development, and I really enjoyed doing that. I also have, frankly, so many years of content to cover in Genshin that I honestly worry sometimes if I will somehow end up not finishing it before End of Service at whatever undefined point in the future, though I imagine they won't have any reason to do that until a few years after the story is completely finished, which is coming but not immediately. Star Rail is newer but still kind of daunting. Less so, though.

So, in general, I feel no particular compulsion to ever get into new video games.

However.

Recently, something alarming happened. I shared this post with a friend. I was under the impression that maybe Leon, in this context, was a Dead by Daylight specific character, but I was very vaguely familiar with Leon Kennedy from internet osmosis and being shown this video a long time ago:



My friend confirmed that Leon DBD was a guest character but was, in fact, Leon S. Kennedy (Resident Evil). My friend is a cishet guy, but he does like Leon a lot and is delighted by how the internet won't stop thirsting for him. Conversations indulging that apparently he had more of an interest in Resident Evil than I ever knew about have infected me with a blorbo-in-law infection, so I am at least vaguely considering laying RE2 and RE4 remake eventually for Leon. The thing I bought today on the Steam sale is a bundle of the two earlier remake games, so I may or may not install RE3 and play it too if I get into it. I'm a little worried that it'll be too hard or fussy for me to play, since I'm not a very skilled gamer, but I am... compelled.

I also have just been picking through the AO3 tag.

And finally, I went to see Wicked: For Good in the theater yesterday since it is finally in Japanese theaters.

I enjoyed it a lot and cried during the titular song a fair bit. I actually am surprised at how there were things about the story I didn't actually know without having seen it performed even though I knew the original Broadway soundtrack since my teens by being a teen sometimes-theater / lefty / queer kid.

tw: mention of eating disorders -- I know that during the press tour I would see all these pictures of Ariana and Cynthia and saw a lot of concern about how thin they both are and how this felt kind of like a weird symptom of American conservative and fascist leanings in the zeitgeist. I still don't know what to say about that. However, I will say that after actually watching it that one of the new, original songs for the movie, "No Place Like Home" felt pleasantly political, especially when listening back after the movie without the dialogue and context dispersed in.



Also, I am usually an Elphaba type even though I like the character relationships a lot. I get most excited when Elphaba is the lead in any scene for the character, the vibe, and the fact that her vocal part is easier for me to follow, but I feel like Ariana really surprised me with how well she did in this particular scene. It's haunting me.



Though it is, I admit, the tiniest bit unlike I anticipated / But I couldn't be happier, simply couldn't be happier / Well, not simply, 'cause getting your dreams / It's strange, but it seems a little, well... complicated / There's a kind of a sort of cost / There's a couple of things get lost / There are bridges you cross / You didn't know you crossed until you crossed / And if that joy, that thrill / Doesn't thrill like you think it will / Still, with this perfect finale / The cheers and the bally-hoo / Who wouldn't be happier? / So, I couldn't be happier / Because happy is what happens / When all your dreams come true

Kills me.

I also adore how Fiyero obviously cares about Glinda to the point that "of course he would marry her if it makes her happy" even though he's miserable without their third and really just wants both of them to run away and go find their missing girlfriend. Thropple canon in my heart.

I also watched the first episode of Frieren yesterday. Best friend asked me to. I really liked it.

I wish there were more energy and hours in the day for my various enthusiasms.

Death Note

Feb. 5th, 2026 05:27 am
prixmium: (nico - punisher)
Cross-posted from [tumblr.com profile] vampiremonday.

So, I never watched Death Note in 2007. I saw, like, scattered clips with no context, and I wrote it off based on a very incomplete impression and somehow managed to live an entire life with 0 context about it. Like... to the point of big gaps in my understanding of certain cultural cues, both in nerdy US circles and here in Japan. (Example: a few months ago I found a weird Ryuk with an apple charm on the floor at the school where I work and asked, 'Is this anyone's... ugly... little guy?' and asked a Japanese adult coworker when the kids didn't know who said, 'Death Note???')

Anyway, I started watching it at a friend's suggestion and mild insistence.

In a way, I feel like it's good that I didn't watch it when it was new and I was still a teenager. It feels like it strikes a chord in me that is very... aesthetically coherent with who I am as a person in a way that I did not realize at the time that it was popular and new.

It is so resonant with me, here as a 35 year old watching it for the first time, that it is actually making me think about how it might have affected my interests, desires, and choices, had I chosen to watch it when it was making its first rounds in America. I know that sounds silly, but I almost do feel that it would've been a butterfly wing in me making different life choices somehow, even if I have absolutely no idea how it would've panned out.

I'm to a point now where I love the people I still have in my life enough that I wouldn't want to risk not knowing and loving them, even though there are a handful of moments in my mid teens and early 20s that I sometimes wish I could test-run to see how things went if I had done things differently, but it's just a fun and eerie little feeling to experience.

Sure, a lot of my fandoms seem to sort of... click into place like "oh, I am glad I found you," but this one feels... weird. Like a chunk of missing time.

Anyway, I am watching Death Note and really into it and I know I'm 19 years late, but I might write these creatures in some situations later.
prixmium: (Default)
I signed up for [personal profile] candyheartsex and here is my Dear Author Letter on my dreamwidth that has become a dear author letter repository.

Weird that I haven't done one since 2023? I used to do several a year.

Writing one of these was kind of nice. It made me feel... I dunno. It felt like a way show both that I am interesting and have interests without the pressure to perform all by myself or the idea that no one cares what I'm talking about. Feels good.

I'm back to Japan from Canada.

I'd already taken Monday off, knowing I'd need it to sleep off the travel, but since Tuesday is really just a workday and we have no "required" stuff until Wednesday, I'm taking Tuesday off, too.

Hopefully, I will be able to go to sleep at a reasonable hour on my Tuesday night.

I've been listening to a lot of Sabrina Carpenter the last few days.

I still feel like there's a Taylor Swift-shaped hole in my music interests even though I still like 85% of her discography. I just feel like I am conscientiously objecting to her right now. It's weird.

I finished Heated Rivalry, and I did not expect to care this much.

In the box

Dec. 22nd, 2025 06:04 am
prixmium: (Default)
About to put my laptop in the jail of a carry-on so I can leave promptly for work in the morning. I'm going to the inane training, because I have nothing better to do all day, and it prevents me from using PTO or awkward apologies despite the fact that a lot of people are gone.

I don't look forward to getting my shit onto buses and trains, but otherwise it should be fine.

Decided, since I have the object permanence of a goldfish these days, to make a list of random things I would like to do if I have time between doing things with bestie. Sometimes, when I visit her, she is playing games or something for periods of time when I have nothing to do but watch her and feel sort of stuck for my own amusement if that isn't all I want to do.

- rearrange and add to dreamwidth icons
- figure out some WIP to work on or start a new one
- download and prepare all the things I have to prepare to sign up for an absentee ballot since I have to do it anyway
- refresh my memory of what I have to do to get the special permission for unauthorized activities on my current visa so I can get started on that right away when I get back to work before it is due again on April 1
prixmium: (Default)
The kids at work had their closing ceremony/Christmas Mass on Saturday, and I had to go to it. It was fine, and I got to leave work at 1:00, which is the usual Saturday quitting time, but I'm not usually a Saturday worker.

Friday, I got my nails done.

This morning, I went to get some hair tinsel in my hair for the first time. I've wanted to do that since I first saw a girl at a middle school get them when I taught her.

Afterward, I went to church. I am glad I went and didn't flake, because the message from the woman pastor was really good, and I'm getting over my internalized weirdness about hearing a female minister.

It's kind of amazing how unfamiliar I find most Christmas traditions that aren't very secular and commercial. My early childhood was in my dad's most iconoclastic days; he'd gone from having grown up with very standard southern Baptist (not necessarily Southern Baptist) ideas and then got more into reformation theology/church history. He still is, but especially when I was little, he was really obsessed with the "regulative principle of worship" (the idea that unless the Bible specifically indicates that you should do it as part of worship that you shouldn't do it as part of worship) to the point that it kind of alienated a lot of people.

In a lot of ways, I am still kind of cynical along the same lines but maybe for different reasons? It's something I'm still working through.

In any case, my dad was Goin Through It about things that may have been originally syncretistic or whatever, so when I was very small, we didn't have Christmas trees and stuff. Later, it softened a little, but when I was like 3-6 or 7, it was a bit of a family drama at times that my parents were "depriving me of being normal" by insisting that I not hear lies about Santa Claus from them and not have a Christmas tree at home.

I was a little rule-follower and kind of superstitious (as many little kids are) in addition to what my parents are telling me, so when my grandmother had a light-up "angel" on top of her Christmas tree, I hid my eyes from it and everyone thought I was a freak because I thought it was a bad "idol". My parents didn't tell me to do this, but it was my toddler brain trying to follow through on what I had been taught to understand.

Anyway, as a result of the particular religious flavor I grew up with, Christmas is a weird time for me. Doubly so because I am working at a Catholic school and just kind of feeling my way through what it is I believe. I still very much identify as a Christian, but I guess I'm about the age my dad was when I was born and going through the process of untangling some of my long-held assumptions as well.

All of this to say that I feel a little dumb and culturally stunted by the fact that I do not know religious Christmas hymns and carols and whatever as well as other people do. Like I know SOME of the words but most of the hymns I grew up singing were like early protestant stuff, which I still like honestly, but as the closing hymn at Tokyo Union today, we sang:



We did so at a somewhat lower tempo and with the organ (or maybe just a deep-voiced piano, I don't know), so there was something about it that was even more moving and kind of Cool in a way I find hard to describe.

I just find that some of the music that I've been exposed to attending this church and, rarely, a PCUSA church back in Chattanooga, talks a lot more about justice and the social obligations of a Christian in the real world and not just spiritually bypassing and looking forward to heaven or the end of time or whatever.

I don't think there's anything wrong with looking forward to eternity in some way, but I am deeply bothered by the whole "well, the world is going to end soon anyway" excuses of the casual American Christian nationalist death cult thing that bleeds through so much of American Christianity. But sometimes I just feel kind of lost and confused by the fact that I deeply hold my religious values and beliefs but also feel like a stranger to broader Christianity? Plus the fact that I am progressive and LGBT affirming. However, I feel like I am slowly experiencing some growth and introspection, which is nice.

Outside of my spiritual thoughts, one of my recent frustrations has been that I struggle with introspection more than I used to. I feel like so much of my mind and time is spent entangled with my professional duties as a teacher that I sort of lost even my continuity-of-self at times in it. I think about how I used to have this very vivid inner world of daydreams, but I lost it for a long time (maybe since I've been back in Japan basically but sometimes before that, too).

In some ways, my current job is a lot better than any job I've had before in terms of giving me time during work hours to do all of my duties, but then sometimes the hours are extended anyway, and while I love and adore functional public infrastructure and transportation, relying on public transportation means that even though I am not actively mentally involved in vehicle obligation that I spend even more time in vehicles than I did back home when I was so frustrated by always being stuck in a car.

That said, I'm very grateful that I am occasionally feeling some kind of improvement in terms of my sense of self-continuity, and I would appreciate if any older adults have ideas for how to keep going with that. I miss myself and my daydreams and my Fanfic Idea Generation, lol.

I'm also very grateful for just how much utterly better my life is than it was this time one year ago.

2 days and I am flying to Canada to see best friend for a little over a week.
prixmium: (stitch rage cage)
CW: Talk about several creepy or NSFW topics. Just. A weird post. Maybe. Proceed with caution or not.

Today, I was taking a bath/shower during which I left some color depositing hair conditioner on my hair for several minutes. This time, I was using a true red, so when I looked down before rinsing my hands, the color and the viscosity of this substance made it look just like I had a copious amount of fresh blood all over my hands.

There was a little prick of instinctive excitement that ran through my nervous system while my conscious mind remained calm and a little amused.

And I was thinking about how so much of my personal aesthetic and interests revolve around this strange tension and contradiction.

I hate bleak, hopeless, gorefest type horror. I am particularly horrified by cruelty for cruelty's sake. And yet, I have an interest in things that exist on the borderline of those things that takes up a lot of my aesthetic sense. I like things that can be creepy but not fully horrifying, or I like horror that defies its genre convention to let love, goodness, friendship, or whatever else "win" over the thing that is so horrifying. That's one reason I think the early parts of New Doctor Who captivated me so much. Of course, they had plenty of scifi, but a lot of it was also centered around various kinds of family-friendly and humanity-affirming horror that could, in the end, be defeated or cozied up to.

Creepier/NSFW stuff from here )

This song feels appropriate for my mood. It's sort of creepy/playful/creepy/playful in the way that this general sensation makes me feel.

prixmium: (rose tyler - series 1 pink)
One of the things I often lament in my life is how rarely I have help for anything in particular.

My mom had a physical disability that made her mobility somewhat limited, but for much of her life she was also a pretty thorough and compulsive housekeeper. This resulted in a lot of my childhood being this pendulum swing between being given chores that I was mostly just supposed to figure out on my own entirely or not knowing how to do certain chores at all because one or both of my parents thought it was simpler to do it themselves than to teach me how. This led to a lot of weird resentment toward basic household chores that I think could have been avoided if I had been taught the responsibilities in ways that were less "figure it out, you should know this through observation," or just having it done for me until suddenly that wasn't possible anymore.

My parents were good and doing their best overall, but it is something I have realized as an adult and had to think about a lot as I figure out how to exist in a space where if I don't do something for myself, it doesn't get done.

Even as I was getting older and my mom was getting weaker, whether she was sick yet or not, it always brought me an incredible rush of feeling loved if anyone just volunteered to do something for me. I can't remember if it was the year she died or sometime before, but I remember being at home with mom and not feeling well for some reason or another, and she offered to make me a sandwich. It really moved and surprised me, because my parents at some point kind of stopped doing small things for me like that, even though my mom did my laundry for an absurdly long time. (It was not even really me being lazy; it was that my mom didn't want individuals splitting up their laundry by person rather than by type.)

Now, I live on the other side of the planet from anyone who actually loves me. I get along with some friendly-at-work people, but none of them is close enough to me to ask to hang out independently of work-related group events. One of my coworkers tried to start a D&D thing at work, but we did it exactly once and then basically gave up on ever trying to do it again because of the fact that, after that, we found that there were such frequent random extra weekend obligations at work that none of us had the clear time to do it anymore.

I don't have it confirmed, but I think that coworker might be moving on again next year. At the very least, I think she is kind of disillusioned with my workplace.

I can see why some of my coworkers are, but at the same time, this is the least-bullshit job I think I have available to me at the moment. Will have to see where things land in April, I guess, unless something weird happens before then.

Yesterday, I had to go into work for several hours for those parent-teacher meetings I'm mostly useless in. A couple of the parents spoke English and asked me a few questions, but it felt like it was mostly a courtesy to me at the end for having sat there during the Japanese conversations.

Today, I had a lovely lady from a Sisterhood Japan group on facebook come over and help me with cleaning my apartment more thoroughly than it's been cleaned in months. It's not that it was completely disgusting, but it was dusty and cluttered, and I just did not know where to start.

I don't have any official neurodivergence diagnosis, and I'm not even sure it's an nd symptom, though I've read about it as such, but I find that I get really stuck on doing menial tasks that aren't daily-maintenance stuff (like hygiene or dish washing etc) if I am all alone. While the lady was here, I let her do most of the actual cleaning, but so as not to be an awkward lump or waste the time or be rude by, like, playing video games while she's working, I organized my closet a lot. Unpacked some winter and fall clothes I had brought here in August and stuck some stuff that's too summery into the vacuum pack bags I had the former in.

I paid this woman, of course, but it felt like it was a mutually beneficial situation. She got paid, and I got the companionship, more than that, the soothing balm of having anyone care enough to do something well for me. I know she did it for money, but she was really kind about it, and I know that the whole love languages thing was really just a conservative Christian dude trying to justify why men need to be waited on hand and foot and to have their wife play mom at all times, but it really does feel like meaningful assistance is something humans need, both to receive and to give. I do try to give it, in work and in personal relationships, in the ways I know how, but one of the reasons I feel like my emotional well runs so empty sometimes is because I don't have anyone to ask for help when I need it.

I found the solution in this case by asking if anyone could come and help me tidy/clean/organize for pay on that facebook group, and I finally followed through on doing it after getting really frustrated with my own efforts last weekend taking HOURS for little payoff. (I was trying to put together a flat pack shelf that I ultimately decided was trash.)

I only got Sunday off this week, and I have to work both days next weekend, too. However, we get Monday and Tuesday off the following week. Still, for sanity and not becoming physically run-down, I might take a day off midweek. I hope nobody gets pissed off if I do since I am very often a pinch-hitter when other people don't show up.
prixmium: (vash arm)
I am the kind of person for whom general strokes spoilers don't bother me at all. In fact, my best friend is pretty correct that strategic, bullet point type spoilers for something make me more inclined to finish it or give it a shot in the first place.

The other day, she finished up the Amphoreus plot in Honkai Star Rail.

She's been playing HSR since launch, but she never tried to get me into it despite my being a slow but interested Genshin player until this plot came around.

I come and go with my ability to focus on even playing video games, but I love it so much.

Participating in a fic big bang earlier this year kind of hurt my confidence in a weird way that most other writing challenges have not. I don't know if it was just timing or what.

I really want my writing juice back. My daydream space seems to be coming back just a little bit, but so far I cannot make it shape anything that I can turn into something I can share. I'm creatively frustrated but maybe not as hopeless as I was. Hope it sticks.
prixmium: (nico sunglasses)
I can't believe how quickly November has been going, and it's coming up fast on the end of the functional school term even though I still have to work into late December. These next few days are going to be a slog, though.

It's Parent-Teacher Meeting week, and my partner homeroom teacher, a Japanese teacher (as in he is and speaks Japanese, not that this is his subject area), I think tried to kind of shield me from boredom by not suggesting that I actually had to come to every single one of these meetings, but wanting to not get into trouble, I clarified, and I have to go to all of them because "parents got mad last year when the international teachers didn't come".

I don't know why, as only one of them could speak to me. One lady kindly tried to engage me despite the language barrier, too.

So, mostly, it's just me trying not to be visibly falling asleep while reading an iPad of sometimes hilariously wrong translation from live audio. It's not half bad most of the time, but it's SO boring. I dissociated long enough to get a little bit of thinking done about next term for the class I'm currently responsible for leading the planning on.

Thinking about changing from The Frogs to The Birds as an example of Greek Comedy because the comedies do not hit the way the tragedies do. Context and all that. But I feel like the latter is at least a little more universally applicable, and it didn't make me instantly want to fall asleep even harder.

I'm paying a girl from a group on Facebook for women living in Japan to come to my apartment and help me get a good couple hours of tidying done without a bunch of hard labor on my part. I feel like it'll be worth paying someone to be my big sister about it for a couple hours.

I haven't fallen into desperate squalor, but I definitely feel things are piling up, and it's just a pain to have the NEED to do something to get more organized hanging over my head.

Went to the doctor yesterday and my A1C was 0.6 points better. I haven't changed that much except no longer drinking soda EVERY day and swapping it sometimes for tea with some sugar but, certainly, far less than is in a bottle of soda. I've been trying to eat more fiber consciously, but it's hard to do when you rely on things you don't have to cook a lot.

I've been to get hotpot a couple times in the last month because I had this strong craving for eating lotus root out of broth like that. It has a very correct texture, in my opinion.

Just over a month, and I will be visiting my best friend in Canada, which is half of what I live for.
prixmium: (taylor midnights)
Various updates.

An Up?: As expected in my last long, emotional post on Taylor Swift Album Release Day, my long-time friend reached out as predicted. It has gone better than a part of me thought it would. The contact has remained a bit consistent, even if sometimes she does not get back to me the same day. Sometimes, I still feel like that she decides "tl;dr" about a lot of the things I send her, but I also think it might just be a difference in communication styles.

She gave me a health update and explained that she actually is taking actions to correct a rather severe nutrient deficiency and is feeling better.

I'm really relieved to hear that there might be a reason for her and, subsequently, our connection to get better. I feel like an asshole for being frustrated that she was kind of not available for a year and a half, with rare and variable exceptions, because I know she's had a hard time physically and emotionally, too.

As expressed in a replies to my previous post, there was a period of time back in 2016 when this friend really hurt me in a way that I think was something she kind of "had" to do in order to hit a rock bottom place from which she got into therapy. However, shortly after she got into therapy, I felt like that her conditions for being in relationship with anyone basically meant that she wanted groupies rather than friends. Others needed to support her in her mental health journey, but she had no emotional bandwidth or patience for anyone else's needs.

In the years since, we've talked about how people who are in a bad place who start therapy often kind of take a therapist's guidance and hear what they want to hear. Their first efforts to make adjustments can sound like "actually therapy makes you a terrible person???" but the therapist can then hear from the client and be like, "Ma'am that is not what I said. It's what you interpreted from what I said with a very broad brush."

Anyway, I am hopeful for the friendship, but I just have this broader frustration with the fact that I feel like even in my very close relationships -- close friends, family, etc. -- that I actually put my money and support where my mouth is. I try to genuinely help people instead of just giving them thoughts and prayers. However, it feels like the vast majority of people really do not offer actionable support even when you're supposedly close. People aren't willing to sacrifice anything for each other. And that ends up making me feel like an overdrawn bank account, sometimes, though I don't feel like the answer is to become exclusively self-serving?

Anyway...

A Down: I kind of think the new Taylor Swift album sucks. I've thought about expressing my feelings about it through some kind of open letter to her she'll never read, but I also feel like a better use of my time would be to invest my time into listening to music that I actually like for a while and giving Taylor Swift a time to simmer and see if she can ever learn to onboard valid criticism ever again in her entire life.

It's tricky, because there have been times when she was criticized for simply being a famous white woman, for simply daring to date around and try to fin "the one" even if it's messy, or whatever. However, I think that she has over-inoculated herself against criticism to the point that she hears all criticism as unfair and not understanding of her very unique situation.

Plus, no one can become and remain a billionaire without some damage to their hearts if not their brains.

Her last album, TTPD, contained a lot bitterness including some of it directed at her fanbase. I think she really blames a lot of them for the failure of her relationship with Matty Healy, and I don't think she's forgiven them despite being oh-so-happy with her new man.

There's something so petty and meangirl about this new album, in most places, that it feels like something she should have done in her 20s and not her mid-30s if at all.

Anyway, I was never a hardcore "swiftie" where I was convinced that there was hidden genius and Da Vinci Codes or whatever in every single one of her choices. However, there's a kind of pain associated with finding very clear evidence that a person your age that you ind of viewed as a poetic representation of your generation is being so regressive at this particular moment. But, like I said, billionaires do not have normal functioning human hearts and brains, so there's some hope on my part that she'll be humbled and become someone whose art I like again, but right now there's a sour taste in my mouth.

I don't hate her. I'm just disappointed.

An Up: The other day, a group of people who do global music outreach came to do a three-day workshop with our Year 7 students, and I got to pop in a few times and see performances, including the finale where the workshop cast and then the Year 7s also danced and sang. It reminded me of how powerful live art can be, and I've been filling some of my Taylor-shaped void with revisiting musicals.

I have this tendency to go through months where I only listen to spoken content, so it was nice to have a reminder of how music and dance and things can be like visceral therapy.

A Down: I'm still struggling to find writing consistency and motivation, and it feels like a part of me is missing or atrophied.

A Down: Trying to work stuff out with the OCT and eventual Canadian immigration/work permit options is being a royal pain in the ass. I finally got the fingerprinting company handling my most recent piece of the puzzle to contact me back after emailing them WEEKS ago (they said my email address was generic and sometimes they don't get those? like why provide an email for assistance if you do not notice or answer emails from real-name gmail addresses??? who are you expecting to email you?) and calling two days in a row to leave a message. Initially, they told me they had not received my package at all yet. However...

An Up: The reason they had not received my package at all was because Canada Post went on a strike like two days after the package was mailed from the US. This means it was probably just sitting in the Canada Post's stockpile for days and weeks. However, the guy emailed me back and said they got my package the day after I finally got them to communicate with me.

A Down: I bought a little bookshelf type thing from amazon and thought I could put it together by myself, but I simply do not have the elbow grease to do it manually. I had to order an electric screwdriver, so for now I have pieces of a shelf in a random spot on the floor. One reason it's hard to organize my small space is that I do not have a specific place for everything, so here's hoping I don't get so disgusted that I simply have to pay to have someone cart it away.
prixmium: (taylor reputation black)
Taylor Swift fandom did not catch me as early as it did the person I used to talk about Taylor Swift with a lot. The person I have in mind collected all her physical CDs from the very first.

Recently, I have not heard much from that person. It kind of hurts that she doesn't really know much about what's going on with my life anymore. I know she's been going through burnout and fatigue, but it has been a thought process over the past couple of weeks to realize that even though she has kind of removed herself from my everyday sphere of thought that there's a part of my heart that is hurting for her absence.

It's not that I don't care about her, and I believe that she probably thinks she cares about me. I just think that she has this very immediate-local-reality locus of attention these days for herself. I know that a couple of years ago, she was a bit more online again, and it burnt her. But she and I met online, and it's like she used to understand my way of life and that my relationships are, by necessity, fairly online-focused.

A couple years ago, during that getting-burnt part, she thanked me for being there for her and indicated that had it not been for me that she might have been much worse off or in real danger due to the fallout of that situation. But then, as she cocooned away to try and begin the process of healing, she just pretty much vanished from my life.

She pops in every now and then, and for a while, I left her breadcrumbs or dead bird offerings, like a cat, hoping that when she bothered to check her discord notifications that she would respond to my thoughts toward her or care to show her things she liked. Sometimes, it worked.

For the most part, however, she would come in with whatever new thing she wanted to say with little or no acknowledgment of the backlog of links. And I get that the longer she was away, the more daunting 10 or 12 links might become, over the course of weeks and months. However, something kind of punched me in the chest a little.

I told her about Charlie's passing. It was just a small message. I thought she might notice or care, as her pets and stress over her aging dog has sometimes been a reason for her long-term absence or stated inability to have deep conversations. I know that, in the past, she has told me about how she only has "meme sharing" energy for people. And, to some degree, I can relate and sympathize with that. I try really, really hard to just keep telling myself that this is such a time for her and that she is dealing with what might be some kind of chronic fatigue disorder.

I try my best to reason with my emotions. But she didn't even notice the message. When I asked her if she'd seen it, she even excused it as having gotten lost in the shuffle of my sending her other relevant-to-her links. So, I told her something to the effect of, "Well, if they're too much for you to go through at this time, I'll stop sending so many."

This was two-pronged in a way. On the one hand, I mean it for both our sakes. If my efforts are not any kind of comfort to her and are just some kind of thing to maybe or maybe not bother with when she has 15 minutes of energy for interacting with me, quarterly at best it seems, then I don't think I should curate anything for her with the thought that it will be well-received or that I should give her some hypothetical social obligation to fulfill or not. On the other hand, I was really hurt that she doesn't even look at my messages closely enough, before sending one of her quarterly messages, to see if I have left a comment there about anything major in my life. Even something like losing a pet when, as I said, she has more than once put a pin in everything in her life in a very vocal and clear boundary-setting way about dealing with her pets.

When I said this, she said something like, "Do whatever's best for you."

I don't think it can be much more clear that there is a kind of dismissal of my importance and feelings there. At least, I have to assume there is.

If our relationship is ever solid enough again for me to send her this post to read, I hope that she doesn't feel angry or slighted by the fact that I am talking about her in vague terms to my online journal that's really only read by a handful of acquaintances. Because it's not like I can talk about it with her with the expectation that I will be heard anytime soon.

I kind of anticipate that she'll reach out in a few days when she's had time to listen to and digest the Taylor Swift album. That's one of "our things" together. It's a shared interest we know we have with each other even when other people in our lives don't share it.

But what counts as "in each other's lives"?

I get that people, especially married people and people with "professional" faces on their careers, have this tendency to compartmentalize and only come back to certain aspects of their lives when they have the time and emotional space for it. I do the same thing... to a degree. But I can't help but feel like I've been through two or three deep crises since she kind of dropped out of regular circulation in my life. And sure, maybe it's because her own crisis of energy and deep burnout is somehow so much worse than I understand.

But friendship is a two way street.

Read more... )
prixmium: (Default)
I have mentioned probably that specifically since July my creativity has kind of crashed and burned. It sucks a lot, and I had a very bad few days recently with my mental health. I feel a bit better at the moment, but I am still worried about my ability to maintain this outlook.

Currently, I am signed up for the bingo challenge at [community profile] fandom_empire and have been trying to track things over at [community profile] communal_creators.

Someone over at the latter suggested this word tracking spreadsheet template. Decided to try using it from today.
prixmium: (tardis)
I was tagged to this by a friend on tumblr, so here are four (technically 5) pictures that aren't selfies.



1. Wall hanging at the church I sometimes attend in Tokyo. It's an artistic rendering of the Holy Spirit descending to engage with humanity/people/Jesus in human down. On the other side, there's a similar art style one of communion. Both are representations of God interacting with humanity.

It's kinda cheating but I guess I'll show that one too without counting it as one of the four.





2. A free rabbit/cat dessert I was given last time I went to Haidilao in Ikebukuro. They're nice if you come there semi regularly alone for some reason. It honestly didn't taste like much but the berry stuff was nice.



3. One of the stupidly large Japanese crows. I encounter them not irregularly in this area when I go that way to work. One morning, I saw one trying to kill a different species of bird. Other mornings, they're scavenging the poorly netted off business trash before the garbage collectors pick it up.



4. A view of Bays Mountain from a walk I took when I was home in America in August. For all its faults, I miss being home sometimes.
prixmium: (stitch rage cage)
I got home about an hour earlier today and slightly less disgusting. It got back up in the 90s F today with humidity to spare, but about time work as winding down, some wind blew in what was supposed to be rain but which was a temperature drop of about 10F in an hour, though that still left it in a more comfortable but still quite warm 80s range.

Managed to clean my dishes that had been sitting for two days. Was going to try to cook something but realized the eggplant from the mail had started to go bad, so screw it, I'll wait for the weekend. I have to work this Saturday but only a half day and I get to sleep in.

I'm still just feeling so brain-cooked and frustrated. I want to be creative, but I always just feel like I'm in trouble for not doing enough to entertain the friends I have who care what I do.

I got a little notebook in the mail. Plan to use it for prayer journaling due to the whole brain-is-too-slippery-and-overheated feeling.

I also wrote in my little Japanese study notebook I started before I moved here in 2024 for the first time since. Something about my old boss's approach to "encouraging" me to learn Japanese just made me pissed off for over a year. At least I am doing something, but I want to do things that don't just feel practical without being too tired to function.
prixmium: (jackdaniel groovy background)
Since I've been back at work, I keep getting sleepy between 7 and 8 PM and I guess it's better than not getting enough sleep, but it's a shame that there's such a thin line between too little and too much.

Last night, I had the thought to follow some links on [personal profile] svgurl's post and sign up for the [community profile] communal_creators thing as I keep complaining about the lack of community.

Then I immediately needed to go to bed.

Today, they let us leave from work a bit more than an hour early due to ongoing typhoon rain and general morale boost, I guess, since we all have to come in on Saturday tomorrow even if we aren't Saturday staff people.

I find that I don't mind the ebb and flow too much as long as they're not being assholes about making us sit in meetings that mean nothing to anyone.

I almost veered off to go to eat something at some restaurant, but I have been trying to manage both my time and my eating a bit differently since I got back. I will always be someone who thinks cheap eating out isn't any less responsible than cooking for oneself when the costs are relatively comparable when averaged out. However, I have noticed that when I am in a place where to go anywhere that isn't right around my work station costs two more hours plus the time I'm sitting there to eat that doing it on weekdays isn't as worth it as my anxiety would tend to tell me. It is less of a slog to cook at home and feel unrushed, which is sort of a new feeling for me.

While I was waiting for soup to finish simmering and then eating all the soup I couldn't put away in two containers, I watched a couple more episodes of Twin Peaks, which I started half-watching while I was at home, hanging out with little Charlie.

This time, I felt the inklings of thought about my own fannish projects while thinking about the show, which is at least promising, but by the time I was finished with watching eating, I think I'm too sleepy to actually do anything tonight. I keep waking up at some point before or after midnight, if only to relieve my bladder, and I wish I could get another hour or so of self-time in there and go back to bed on a sort of dual-sleep model, but I feel like to make that happen, I'm going to have to pull my stupid-early bedtime back even earlier to where it feels more like a nap and my reawakening time is slightly earlier. I used to do that all the time, but I haven't since moving to Japan, really.
prixmium: (vash arm)
cw: animal death Update on little Charles: Apparently they administered morphine before the euthanasia medication and while that kicked in they let my parents pet him and feed him an ice cream sandwich. And after he was very high and half asleep, only then they gave him that, and my stepmom held him and Dad petted him until he stopped breathing.

In other news, I am thinking about the way being in fandom is just a lot less like being "in" anything and isn't really as fun anymore and how it is connected to the general state of the world.

When coming to this website to make this post, I noticed the site announcement about restrictions on Dreamwidth in Georgia and in my home state of Tennessee. I'm really proud to be on this website and paying a pittance a year to help them keep fighting good fights like this. I don't post here as much as I could, though, because years in the bigger ocean of tumblr and twitter have kind of made me wind down my sense of having anything to say.

I know it's a weird combination of the violence inherent to capitalism and just my brain getting older, but I remember having the ability to daydream all day long in school, writing fic snippets in my notebooks, while also continuing to keep good grades in my classes. I used to be creative and itching to share stuff. There was something about the internet being a place I had to manage to get access to that created a kind of goal at the end, but I still don't think it's "dopamine addiction" or whatever that's causing the main problem. I think it's just the sense that there are little campfires everywhere -- or one big bonfire here and there -- but around them, nobody is actually gathered to listen. People are just there to add fuel to the fire and be angry and hurt that no one is looking at the sparks they added. I'm to blame as is everyone else.

I do try to engage with other people's fanwork and stuff, but it seems like it rarely becomes a two-way street anymore.

You don't have to be friends with everyone you meet in fandom, but I know that back in the LJ and even early tumblr days, there was a sense of knowing who hung around in your neck of the woods. Maybe you didn't always, always engage in reciprocity of comments and reading, but there was enough overlap that there was an excitement to sharing stories and stuff. It was a form of conversation and positing ideas. Now, it's just part of an attention economy where everyone is broke and starving.

I don't know what exactly I did to direct the YouTube algorithm to feed me down this specific rabbit hole, but the other night I found this channel called [youtube.com profile] DarwinsLab. I can't speak for his past videos, but I watched the most recent tree about the nature of dreams, psychedelics, and the uncanny valley respectively. I really enjoyed them, and it felt a little bit like a slight reach backward into what the internet was like and "for" when I was in university and spending all that precious time I could've been forging IRL connections being on the internet (half-joking). It reminds me of Vsauce and watching everymanHYBRID and Marble Hornets and, strangely connected, YuGiOh The Abridged Series. There was a sense of creativity and conversation in those things that I often feel is not present even in the independent or self-made YouTube "content" I often fill my brain with.

When I was back in America for a few weeks, I rarely turned on YouTube, I noticed. Sometimes, I sat in total silence. Other times, I watched the actual TV my parents pay for, lying with little Charlie on the couch while parents were out. There was silence, and it was mostly bearable, though the first night of three that my parents went out of town while I was there (so I could dogsit our little buddy, them having no idea he'd be gone in a month), the house being so much larger than my little apartment kind of made me feel a little insecure like there might be something else hiding in the shadows or another room.

Here in Japan, I listen to YouTube and podcasts a ridiculous amount of the time. I enjoy them, most of the time. I enjoy learning, even when it's just on the level of following a story. Learning the trivia and beats of a true crime case that is common knowledge along with a little editorializing, etc. I have to have some kind of speech-sound to fall asleep here, and I don't know why. I would sometimes turn it on when I was back in the States, but I never actually comprehended more than five minutes of it before passing out.

I think it has something to do with the fact that all of my comprehensible conversations and interactions with human speech are at work here. There's a part of my brain that is just starved for something that feels both personal and novel. And yet, I'm noticing, that I have started to tune out toward the end of podcasts and videos that I normally wouldn't have lately. Then again, I've just suffered a loss, however distant and small compared to a human life. I know that what I'm experiencing at this very moment might not be some super representative aspect of my personhood.

When I try to listen to the part of me that's zoned out, to interrogate why, I find that it's that creative urge in the background begging me to be the one to make something. Only, I spent the whole time I was home trying to give myself space to create something, and the best I did was 15 seconds of simple video editing or so that is nowhere near finished that I may never go back and finish. I couldn't write anything, and I dunno why.

Except, I kinda do. It feels like there's no point to write anything lately. I feel a little bit less pessimistic about this than I did a week ago. I finally got one comment on the Trigun fic I posted recently. Only, I know that back in the past, I would have been able to find a space in which to talk about the aspect of the story that made me write that fic, even if the person didn't fully read my fic themselves, and if I got lucky they might, and that's what I'm missing.

Which brings me back to the YouTube algorithm.

Somehow, in connection with this and other stuff I watch sometimes, it brought me to this video:



It is an interesting take on a lot of things, and my petty connection to my own sense of being unmoored is much smaller than the bigger issues of white grievance replacing the personality and redirecting suburban white anger into fascism. However, one of the things she talks about up front is that Eminem was kind of one of the last release valves for a subculture of young white suburban people that held a space that allowed them to share experience, express anger, and be transgressive or rebellious in a way that was able to both acknowledge their legitimate grievances against those in power and the apparatuses in the mainstream that held them down while also being self-aware of their own privilege in the landscape of a genre of music that was pioneered by Black people. She talks about how she was once a big fan of Eminem, became very critical, and then came back around to the idea that while she doesn't want to absolve him of all the "problematic" elements of his writing and body of work that maybe the flaws and anger and transgression present within his work are representative of the functions of a lot of former subcultures that used to allow young (white otherwise, though the white people are most relevant to her concern in the video) people to help identify themselves in opposition to the mainstream.

I remember being in the fringes of Eminem-enjoying and the weird cathartic rush I got when I learned how to contextually use the "f-word" as an intensifier and was brave enough to do it in a venting rant to a friend over the phone in hushed tones as a tween. I grew up at the intersection of parents who were just really responsible given their means for the most part and "white trash," so there was a certain aspect of that that spoke to me when it was coming out and cool. And I remember that kind of word-of-mouth and slow-transmission of culture that was based on who you happened to have access to.

I also think about the fact that had it not been for my cousin giving me a copy of Shounen Jump he'd worn out as a mousepad after reading it a couple times then telling me about a person he met with a screenname based on YuYu Hakusho in an Unreal Tournament chatroom that I should try to message on a lark who then got freaked out like I might be lying about who I was and how I got their username that I would not, in any way, be who I am today.

Even the dial-up internet had the character of being a decentralized place but where you could, through others, eventually discover things.

The centralized, mainstream, social media internet actively bottlenecks all of that experience and most of it feeds it through an algorithm that serves to make the user and the people similar to and adjacent to the user's habits more like themselves instead of helping to change them in any way.

And while there's this narrative of wanting to embrace who you are, to not let others change you, the thing is that being able to "try lives on" used to be a more natural part of reality than it is now. The kids growing up with social media now are more terrified of being cringe than being anything else. ~Back in my day~, there was a sense that choosing how one wanted to be cringe and learning the rules and not being a "poser" but being fully sincere in your efforts to conform to this type of cringe was a feature of adolescence.

And I think that this connects to what is dying about fandom. Fandom was, at one point, a series of subcultures. Certain fandoms had certain rules, certain conventions (of both kinds), and certain online communities that had idiosyncratic rules and expectations.

Now, you have to cast your bait and line out into the murky depths of a tag or search term and hope that maybe someone who matches your weirdness might see it. There are all these arguments about "purity" versus being as weird and kinky as you want to be and everything in between, and I think this kind of thing is partly because there is no sub in the fandom subcultures anymore, so people keep trying to make the mainstream vibe into what they're most comfortable with. Whereas, in the past, people would just make their own little community about that thing that included 5-20 core members and others who came along to join and that was enough.

And, selfishly, it is SO hard to be creative in this environment where I know that everyone is too overstimulated to care or views me and my attention as competition rather than having a handful of people I can trust to at least care that I had something to say.

RIP Charlie

Sep. 2nd, 2025 06:59 am
prixmium: (stonehenge in sunlight)
cw: animal death
cross-post from tumblr

I'm about to go to sleep, and likely before I wake up in the morning, on the other side of the world, my dad and stepmom will have to put down Charlie, the little dog who's been part of my family since 2011 when my mom saw him on a foster site and decided he needed her.

My mom passed on before he did, but he has continued to be a part of our lives, even when he temporarily moved in with a family friend.

I visited home for the first time in over a year for a few weeks in August. He waited all that time to see me. He played with me a few more times.

A couple nights ago, my dad messaged me to let me know that a couple days after I got back to Japan, Charlie collapsed and was having considerable breathing trouble. The vets said he was in late stage heart failure when they got him checked out.

Little guy is old and has had a great and pretty varied life for such a little creature. He's loved many people and been loved.

I'm thankful both to God and little Charlie that I got to see him again. If animals and people go to heaven and to the same one, I hope my mom is glad to see him soon.







Rest well, little cryptid.
prixmium: (stitch rage cage)
It's been a little while since I was on this website. 

I started my new job on April 1 of this year at an international school in Tokyo. I had a couple of weeks before that to settle into my new apartment, but the moment I got moved in, I got sick for a few days. My body really does seem to just give in and give up every time I have a moment of peace from expectation and obligation. 

I am currently writing from my dad's house in Tennessee. It's the first time I've been back in over a year. I was nervous about coming through the airport, as outspoken as I am online about things that suck about the encroaching fascism in the US, but I should know that for the most part as a white woman, no one is really paying attention. 

My flight home ended up being delayed by 3 hours in total which cost me spending 12 extra hours in airports in total. Kinda sucked, but I dislike airports less than most people I've heard talk about it. 

My new job is night and day better than my job that I left, so I feel confident that I made the right decision there. It's a really lovely job most of the time, even though every job has its bullshit. The two things that are most difficult in this job: my direct-report boss is a True Believer in AI and as an English teacher this makes me want to pull my hair out and, because the international school is private and people choose their junior and senior high schools in Japan based on a variety of factors, June and July were just a blur of hardly ever getting a full weekend from my job. We get flex time at this job, though, so most of those events I got paid back in hours I could use. Means I have a few extra paid leave days left over after taking several during the month of August. I think they gave us 10 or so days off besides weekends, and I ended up taking 8 in total. 

And yet, I am stuck in this limbo of feeling of having too much free time and too little. 

While I am here, my dad and stepmom are planning to go out of town for a few days, since they never have a dog sitter. Maybe I'll start to have creative thought again in that quiet. My stepmom is old enough that she turns up the TV loud enough to bother me a little, but I want to sit in the den both as a social grace and because it's where the air conditioning is the coolest. 

I was hoping to get time and inspiration to write or otherwise do fandom interaction or contribution, but my last two fics have gotten next to no traffic or engagement. I did post them a few places, and I have at least one or two kudos, but it's just so lonely to get NO comments in spite of showing it to people. I feel like my greatest strength to make anything is writing, but no one bothers to act like fanfic authors are people offering them their ideas anymore. 

Even before that, I participated in a secret santa type exchange, and my recipient kind of ghosted the entire thing. 

I just really have... idk... a sense of lost competence? I've written over a hundred fics, and I know that it's a cultural shift, but I just... don't have whatever it takes to get people's attention anymore. 

Maybe I should post them here, since people actually treat people like people here, but I feel like it's hard to find the audience... anywhere... for any specific thing I write. 

Anyway, that's my current mope. And because of it, I lost steam on the few WIPs I had and can't think of anything new. 

27 Days

Feb. 19th, 2025 06:28 am
prixmium: (Default)
I have 27 days left before my final working day at my current job. My boss wants me to leave the apartment they arranged the following day, so this weekend I'm taking a good majority of my stuff with me and moving it to the new apartment.

It's a long weekend and should be nice to feel like I'm setting up a different phase of things, but I'm feeling pretty down about it.

A couple of weeks ago, my best friend had a surgery she has to have about once a year. Before that, our communication was spotty, which is understandable, because she felt bad. However, since she's been recovered and back to work, I sense her anxiety more and it seems like we communicate less. I'm trying to be patient and not bring it up in a whiny way, but I also can't help but notice how much I rely on her attention to feel sane. It's been getting better for a couple of days, but I feel like if things happen that make my few close friends all busy at once, I'm just kinda dying inside.

I speak to my dad once or twice a week on the phone. I don't have other family much to speak of.

And I really miss it, I think.

People deal with their families or chosen families even when it's inconvenient and bothersome. I feel like I'm the least important person in every equation. I don't have anyone with whom I've earned the place of being worried about even when it's kinda hectic to do so. And I feel like everyone else has that person, somewhere, but I don't.

I had a couple of acquaintances both of whom I thought I might see this weekend. Have one meal with. Seems both will have to bail.

I'm just tired of never being the person someone looks forward to these days. My best friend is great, but I feel like only having her is unfair. But what do I do?

Just curl up and shrink, I guess.

Reflection

Dec. 28th, 2024 11:59 pm
prixmium: (Default)
I’m on vacation now, and having the kind of job I do this year, I don’t have grading or anything to worry about, but my break is a little shorter than it would have been in my public school job.

I’m trying my best to focus on every moment being present with my best friend and away from the things that cause me to feel kind of mopey about my everyday life back in Japan. Plus, when I go back, I’ll only have 10 or 11 weeks left on the job I’m leaving.

In the meantime, I’ll have to secure an apartment for my next job, but even though being a teacher in a school again will be a lot of responsibility, it’s more focused responsibility, so I feel like it will be better for me. Plus, I’m only planning to be there for a year, if my other plans go in order.

It’s hard not to focus on the anxiety of going back to responsibility instead of being where I am, happy. I guess another thing is that I have real hope of my regular life being better in the next 18 months or so, so it’s hard to wait for that long and to imagine it stretching out before me.

However, I am happy that if I just actually manage to ignore my job for the next week or so, nothing bad will happen to me or my students as a result. I just really don’t have quite as much stamina for a teaching job as many do, and it’s the one drawback of my chosen profession, no matter what form it takes.

I’m really happy to be in a part of the world that’s more familiar and which speaks my language, even though I enjoy being in Japan. I came to Japan in order to have a chance at a better living situation than the one I was able to afford in America, despite making a higher salary, but now that I have worked out a game plan to have a life where I can be near my best friend most of the time, I feel it is frustrating and not quite enough. On the other hand, the conversation that led to me actually coming up with this plan and finding out more than I knew before probably wouldn’t have happened if not for the confluence of circumstances and my homesickness and discontent when I first moved. And, I’ve gotten in better shape – losing a little weight but, more importantly, getting my diabetes under much better control. So, it feels like a “meant to be” kind of side quest, but I wish it wouldn’t take so long, but I’m old enough that I don’t want to wish my time away.

Just thinking some thoughts as I try not to waste my time off as I often do, fretting.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:14 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios