prixmium: (jackdaniel groovy background)
Since I've been back at work, I keep getting sleepy between 7 and 8 PM and I guess it's better than not getting enough sleep, but it's a shame that there's such a thin line between too little and too much.

Last night, I had the thought to follow some links on [personal profile] svgurl's post and sign up for the [community profile] communal_creators thing as I keep complaining about the lack of community.

Then I immediately needed to go to bed.

Today, they let us leave from work a bit more than an hour early due to ongoing typhoon rain and general morale boost, I guess, since we all have to come in on Saturday tomorrow even if we aren't Saturday staff people.

I find that I don't mind the ebb and flow too much as long as they're not being assholes about making us sit in meetings that mean nothing to anyone.

I almost veered off to go to eat something at some restaurant, but I have been trying to manage both my time and my eating a bit differently since I got back. I will always be someone who thinks cheap eating out isn't any less responsible than cooking for oneself when the costs are relatively comparable when averaged out. However, I have noticed that when I am in a place where to go anywhere that isn't right around my work station costs two more hours plus the time I'm sitting there to eat that doing it on weekdays isn't as worth it as my anxiety would tend to tell me. It is less of a slog to cook at home and feel unrushed, which is sort of a new feeling for me.

While I was waiting for soup to finish simmering and then eating all the soup I couldn't put away in two containers, I watched a couple more episodes of Twin Peaks, which I started half-watching while I was at home, hanging out with little Charlie.

This time, I felt the inklings of thought about my own fannish projects while thinking about the show, which is at least promising, but by the time I was finished with watching eating, I think I'm too sleepy to actually do anything tonight. I keep waking up at some point before or after midnight, if only to relieve my bladder, and I wish I could get another hour or so of self-time in there and go back to bed on a sort of dual-sleep model, but I feel like to make that happen, I'm going to have to pull my stupid-early bedtime back even earlier to where it feels more like a nap and my reawakening time is slightly earlier. I used to do that all the time, but I haven't since moving to Japan, really.
prixmium: (Default)
It's 2:30 AM and I'm gonna try to go to bed after this post. Thankfully, I've actually been sleepy for about an hour. I took my medicine a few minutes go, but since I came back to my family's main home from the parsonage I can't figure out what I did with my packet of antidepressants. I need to call stuff in and get American refills anyway, but I've honestly been good for a while on everything but birth control from stuff I got while in Japan. It was just incidental, but I think we I go back I'll try to be good for a month or so but then do at least a couple of refills while I'm there because it's so, so much cheaper.

Anyway, I have been thinking about trying to get off my antidepressant anyway. I don't think I'm no longer depressed or that I have exponentially better coping skills. I also know that in the future I probably do need to invest time and (sigh) money into a good therapist. However, I just kind of don't want to keep being dependent on an antidepressant like that forever. My mom reads stuff online and gets it on her mind, and she mentioned it to me again recently that maybe we both should try to do with as little as possible due to the possibility that it may interfere with the body's ability to ever perform those functions on its own. I dunno.

I am glad I'm getting sleepy in the dark, though. For a while I was only really sleepy from like 5 AM onward and it was a problem. I guess part of it was jetlag, but the thing is that I slept through the night just fine the first few days I was home and woke up with the Literal Chickens that live on my CITY STREET. But then my mom was sort of bothered that by the time she got up mid-morning I was ready for a cat-nap. I just really like sleeping... I know that might be a depression thing. I also think it's a touch starvation thing. This isn't like a sexual thing but I think that I take some kind of tactile pleasure in lying down and snuggling into blankets that is some kind of emotional substitute for the fact that I don't have anyone to hug or touch in any friendly way except my parents, and when I was in Japan I didn't even have that.

In other news, I made a new reddit account, and it seems like it might be promising to get some lowkey interactions within certain fandoms the way classic LJ comms used to be. I don't think every subreddit is as successful or happy as the others, but I'm hopeful.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:51 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios